Wisconsin residents push for laws requiring hands-free cell phone use behind the wheel

Eau Claire (WQOW) – A new hands-free phone law in Minnesota is meant to minimize distracted driving, and some people in Wisconsin want the same thing.

All Minnesota drivers are now required to only use hands-free devices while driving. That means they can use bluetooth through their car, or have a mounted cell phone on speakerphone.

In Wisconsin, you only have to use hands-free devices when you’re in a construction zone, or you have a probationary license.

One Eau Claire police officer says in her 13 years on the force, she’s seen the deadly consequences of distracted driving, and that it’s exponentially getting worse. “What officers are typically seeing out on the road is not necessarily being able to tell if somebody’s texting while driving, which the law covers, as much as their driving behavior, whether or not they’re swerving out of their designated lane, paying attention while at a traffic light,” said Bridget Coit, an officer with the Eau Claire Police Department.

Currently, distracted driving in the state can cost you a $175 (or higher) citation, plus points on your license.

Katrina Lim

Katrina Lim

More News

STORMTRACKER 18 WEATHER
Eau Claire
72°
Menomonie
67°
Chetek
Durand
72°
Ladysmith
70°
Neillsville
68°
Rice Lake
New Richmond
Black River Falls
Medford
River Falls
Duluth
65°
Green Bay
67°
La Crosse
79°
Madison
75°
Milwaukee
71°
Twin Cities
72°
Connect with WQOW
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content