Skip to Content

UPDATE: All Wisconsin wolf hunting zones closing Wednesday

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
Wolf zones

(WQOW) -
The Wisconsin DNR now says all wolf hunting zones will close on Wednesday, Feb. 24.

WISCONSIN (WQOW) - Three wolf hunting zones are closing on Wednesday and two of them contain the majority of our local counties.

That is because of a big opening day for hunters where 52 of the state's 119-wolf quota was filled.

So, the DNR is closing zones 2, 5 and 6 Wednesday, Feb. 24, at 10 a.m.

Zone 6 makes up a large chunk of Wisconsin, including all of Polk, Pepin, Pierce, Dunn, Buffalo and Trempealeau counties and most of Barron County.

The other zone closing locally is zone 5. All of Eau Claire, Chippewa and Clark counties are either in zone 5 or 6.

Clint Berge

Clint Berge is the Social Media & Digital Content Manager for Eau Claire’s Own WQOW News 18.
Report any website issues to him at

Skip to content