Skip to Content

House votes to impeach Donald Trump; 1st president ever impeached twice

trump impeach

WASHINGTON (WQOW) - In a historic moment in United States history, Donald Trump has become the first president to ever be impeached twice.

Ten Republicans joined Democrats in voting yes to impeaching the president.

Those Republicans are: Rep. Liz Cheney (WY), Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA), Rep. John Katko (NY), Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL), Rep. Fred Upton (MI), Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA), Rep. Peter Meijer (MI), Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (OH), Rep. Tom Rice (SC) and Rep. David Valadao (CA).

The final vote was 232-197.

The House vote on an article of impeachment for incitement of insurrection was still underway Wednesday, but the Democratic-led House had secured enough votes to impeach Trump. Some Republicans joined Democrats in voting to impeach the president.

During debate before the vote, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi asked Republicans and Democrats to “search their souls.” Trump is the first American president to be impeached twice.

The impeachment proceedings came one week after a violent, pro-Trump mob breached the Capitol, sending lawmakers into hiding and revealing the fragility of the nation’s history of peaceful transfers of power. Five people died.

Trump has taken no responsibility for the riot.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Clint Berge

Clint Berge is the Social Media & Digital Content Manager for Eau Claire’s Own WQOW News 18.
Report any website issues to him at

Skip to content