Skip to Content

Eau Claire School Board fills vacant seat

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
poster (12)

Eau Claire (WQOW) - We now know who will fill the seat on the Eau Claire School Board vacated by Joe Luginbill.

On Monday night, the board selected Phil Lyons to take the seat.

Lyons will serve the remainder of Luginbill's term through April 2020.

Lyons currently serves on the UW-Stout administration team as vice chancellor of administration.

He has served on the Eau Claire School District Demographic and Trends Committee for three years and has been the committee chair for the past year.

"I devoted 30 years of service to three different institutions of higher education and I believe there are elements of that knowledge that are transferable to the Eau Claire School District," Lyons told the school board before being selected.

Commissioner Aaron Harder will fill the role of treasurer in Luginbill's place.

The school board will make decisions on several important issues in the coming months, including post-employment benefits, the search for the next superintendent and the possibility of a referendum.

Jess Langlois

Jess Langlois is the weekend meteorologist and weekday multi-media journalist for News 18. She joined us in July of 2019.

Skip to content