Skip to Content

Boundary changes finalized for seven ECASD elementary schools

Eau Claire (WQOW) – After nearly a year of research, more than seven listening sessions and a few postponements, the Eau Claire Area School District has made a decision on elementary school boundary changes. The changes may impact about 270 students and their families.

The school board has been trying to fix overcrowding at elementary schools that feed into North High School. Now new boundary changes have been set for Lakeshore, Locust Lane, Longfellow, Northwoods, Roosevelt, Same Davey and Sherman Elementary.

New School Boundaries from the ECASD Board Meeting powerpoint Presentation


The changes to the boundary plan allow next year’s fifth-graders to stay at their current elementary school until they transition to middle school. It would allow siblings of those fifth-graders to stay at that current elementary school for one year.

Students affected by the boundary changes may attend the middle school they would have originally been enrolled in if they have a sibling still attending that school.

Lastly, the district will provide transportation for students wishing to remain at their current school if they fall under these categories.

“We know it’s going to be disruptive to the boundaries, but we think that as we transition families through the system they’re going to find their school are very welcoming and their students are going to be very successful,”
said Mary Ann Hardebeck, superintendent of the Eau Claire Area School District.

These changes go into effect at the beginning of the 2020-21 school year.


Justin Esterly

Justin Esterly is our Daybreak meteorologist. Justin joined WQOW News 18 in May 2018.

Skip to content