Should plant-based milks be called milk?

Eau Claire (WQOW)- Consumers are buying more plant based milks, but should they be considered milk?

Susan Kasik-Miller, a clinical dietitian at HSHS Sacred Heart, said milk from a cow doesn’t need any changes to be consumed, while a milk product from a nut or fruit needs to be processed and altered before consumed, so it’s not considered milk. 

Kasik-Miller said skim milk and plant-based milks have about the same number of calories, but cows milk has significantly more protein. 

"Our plant-based proteins aren’t always complete, and also some of our milks that are derived from plants do not contain much more than one gram of protein," Kasik-Miller said. 

She said some people need to drink plant-based milks because they’re lactose intolerant, so they should choose a brand with more protein. 

The FDA said these plant-based products like almond and soy milk will no longer be able to label themselves milk. The changes will take about one year.

adwpadmin

adwpadmin

More News

STORMTRACKER 18 WEATHER
Osseo
-7°
Menomonie
Chetek
-11°
Durand
-8°
Ladysmith
-11°
Neillsville
-5°
Rice Lake
-14°
New Richmond
-13°
Black River Falls
Medford
-8°
River Falls
-6°
Duluth
Green Bay
La Crosse
-10°
Madison
-0°
Milwaukee
13°
Twin Cities
-0°
Connect with WQOW
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content