Eau Claire County Board Results

Eau Claire County (WQOW) – In Eau Claire County, 7 of the 29 seats were up for vote. Each seat had two candidates running. Three of the incumbents lost. 

In District 1, Incumbent Gary Gibson defeated James Engel 246-202.
In District 3, Joe Knight defeated Gary McFarlane 387-274.
In District 7, Steve Chilson will keep his seat after defeating Lorraine Henning 453-323.
In District 9, Donald Mowry defeated the incumbent Gordon Steinhauer 364-295.
In District 10, Nancy Coffey defeated the incumbent Mike Conlin 551-426.
In District 16, Lydia Boerboom took down the incumbent David Mortimer 243-149.
In District 21, Mark Beckfield, the incumbent, defeated Jon Chermack 337-169.

District 1
Gary Gibson (I) : Gibson was first elected to the county board in 2004. He is the chair of Planning & Development

James Engel: Engel owns an antique shop in town of Ludington.

District 3 (Incumbent Douglas Kranig not running)

Joe Knight: Knight has been a writer, editor for the Leader Telegram for 34 years. Believes journalism has given him a wide range of experiences. He said he is against expansion of the county jail, focused on environmental issues. 

Gary McFarlane: McFarlane works as a medical sales specialist.

District 7

Steve Chilson (I): Chilson is the general manager of Chilson Auto in Eau Claire. He was first elected in 2010.

Lorraine Henning: Henning is endorsed by AFL-CIO. She is an Eau Claire Human Services board member.

District 9

Gordon C. Steinhauer (I): Steinhauer is the vice chair of the county Planning and Development Commission. Retired head of Steinhauer Enterprises, and excavating company.

Donald Mowry: Mowry is the former professor in the Dept. of Social Work at UW-Eau Claire for 27 years. He considers himself a progressive candidate.

District 10

Mike Conlin (I): Conlin was elected to the board in 2012. He is the president & CEO of Dynamic Displays. He feels infrastructure is a big issue.

Nancy Coffey: Coffey Received roughly 61 percent of the vote in the primary election. She is the FoodWise Nutrition Coordinator for UW-Extension-Eau Claire County.

District 16

David Mortimer (I): Mortimer first won election in 2016. He is Director of the Innovation Institute at HSHS

Lydia Boerboom: Boerboom is a junior social work student at UWEC. She said she’s running to give student perspective to board. She said conservation issues are top of mind.

District 21

Mark Beckfield (I): Beckfield is the Eau Claire Veterans Foundation President. He is also Vice Chair of the Regis Catholic Schools Foundation.

Jon Chermack: Chermack is a member of International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.



More News

Rice Lake
New Richmond
Black River Falls
River Falls
Green Bay
La Crosse
Twin Cities
Weather Outlook: Slight warming trend continues before rain showers the midweek.

Weather Outlook: Slight warming trend continues before rain showers the midweek.

 Happy Fall! Saturday marks the first day of fall as the Fall Equinox takes place at 8:54PM. The Equinox happens

Connect With WQOW
Top Stories

UPDATE: 4 from Loyal, including 3 kids, killed in Apostle Island kayak incident

Sheriff Michael Brennan said Erik Fryman, 39, and his kids 3, 6 and 9-years-old died. The mom, Cari Mews, 29,

NEW: Missing Mondovi man found dead Wednesday afternoon

According to Mondovi Police Chief Colin Severson, the department is looking or Nathan D. Kummer who was reported missing by

UPDATE: Gas leak contained in Boyd

Boyd's fire chief told News 18 crews were digging up a leaking water line at Double D's Saloon and workers

Sex offender faces new charges in Eau Claire

A convicted sex offender living in Eau Claire is charged with two counts of first degree sexual assault of a

UPDATE: Middleton shooter was employee of business where he opened fire

The Middlelton Police department sent a phone message to residents about an active shooter.

Scroll to top
Skip to content